The World Passport

I dream to be in large cities and small villages. I dream to be on islands of sand and islands of ice. I dream to be in plains and deserts. I dream to summit peaks. I dream to explore rainforests and canyons. I dream to behold coral and be engulfed in caves. I dream to be on a cycle and in a ship, in live concerts and museums, in pubs and playgrounds, with people and without. I want to know what it’s like out there. But there’s one problem, a problem that has arisen because of how complicatedly structured we’ve made the world today.

Political boundaries. To see another part of the globe, I need first to obtain a visa permitting me to see it, and further harassment if I intend to stay beyond a certain length. And it’s out of my hands, I can’t do anything about it. It sometimes doesn’t make sense to me that even though I may really want to do things somewhere, or live someplace, there is a slight chance I may never be able to do it, which isn’t a nice thought.

So I thought up a solution. Let me introduce to you the concept of a ‘World Passport’. The World Passport indicates that you are not a citizen of any particular country, but of the world. It entitles you to enter any country, other than ones specifically declared as currently unsafe by the UN (or some such body), with no restriction on duration of stay. It means you pay taxes that contribute to the welfare of the world, and to its conservation and improvement. A rigorous and foolproof test is held to decide whether you can see the transformation of the world from being the world to being a utopia, should you choose to make the wise decision of applying for the World Passport.

Now here comes the strange part. After thinking of this, I did a little research, and it turns out there is one: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Passport. We just need to make it better.

 

